Convert Mailbox Type using Exchange Management Console

In Microsoft Exchange (2007 - 2010), there are four types of mailboxes that you can configure for different uses depending on your purpose:
  • Regular - Standard user mailbox
  • Room - Manage shared room scheduling
  • Equipment - Manage share equipment scheduling
  • Shared - Shared mailbox
However you may need to convert a mailbox type. Use the following command in the Exchange Shell to convert the mailbox

Set-Mailbox -Type

For example, I want to convert my Shared Mailbox "Boardroom" to a Room Mailbox, I would use the following command:

Set-Mailbox Boardroom -Type Room

Once completed the mailbox will be converted and ready for use. This take no time to convert.


Popular posts from this blog

Office 365 ScanPST to fix corrupted Outlook files

Deleting Office 365 Tenant

PowerShell: Download and Install Java 8 JRE