command-line commands fedora fixes linux list OS quick reference runlevel software tech tips


This is just a basic outline of the usage and function of the linux command-line command of CHKCONFIG.

This command-line tool and be use in five different modes:

  1. Adding new services
  2. Removing services
  3. Reporting on current services
  4. Turning services on and off
  5. Reporting on service status

One of the more useful ways to use this command is to report on a specific service.

For example:
Note: these commands are best run as either root or using sudo.

#chkconfig –list httpd

This command will list init run levels that this service is set to run in.
This is the output from that command (example only).

[root@server ~]# chkconfig –list httpd
httpd 0:off 1:off 2:on 3:on 4:on 5:on 6:off

To delete a service from all init run levels, use the following:

#chkconfig –del

*Where , insert the name of the service you wish to delete.

To add a new service:

#chkconfig –add

For a more detailed approach when adding services, you can specify which run levels the new service will be configure to. For example:

#chkconfig –level 35 on

This will result in your specified service only running in run levels 3 and 5.

#chkconfig –level 01246 off

This will result in your specified service not running in run levels 0, 1, 2, 4 & 6. Leaving the service to run in 3 and 5.

More information can be found at the following links.